Messi Voted for Neymar and Mbappe for The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2020 Award

As many expected, FC Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski claimed The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2020 award. The Polish striker won every possible trophy with Bayern Munich this year, and he was the leading goal-scorer in the UEFA Champions League and Bundesliga competitions.

Players, managers, fans, and the media all had a say in the voting for the award. For one, captains from national teams were called to vote for their top three for the honor. Many voted for Robert Lewandowski to win it, but Argentina national team captain Lionel Messi did not.

The Barcelona star gave (via FIFA) Paris Saint-Germain forwards Neymar and Kylian Mbappe each a top-two vote.

Messi voted for Neymar to win the prestigious award, which does not come as a surprise. Neymar guided PSG to both a domestic treble-winning season and an appearance in the Champions League final. And of course, the two are good friends dating back to their time as teammates with the Catalan club.

Messi sure is becoming a fan of Mbappe. He also handed the French forward a top-three vote for The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2018 award.

For Neymar, Messi was not the only player to vote for him to win the award. Thiago Silva also picked the Brazilian forward to take home the honor.

Mbappe also received his fair share of votes for the honor. The likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Hugo Lloris, and Jan Oblak each gave the French forward a top-three vote.

Expect these two PSG stars to once again be in contention for this award next year.

Want more PSG? Visit the PSG Talk Podcast Network page and subscribe to PSG TalkingThe 1970, and 24th & Parc.

Tags Cristiano Ronaldo FIFA Hugo Lloris Jan Oblak Kylian Mbappé Lionel Messi Neymar Robert Lewandowski
Follow Us