Video: Neymar Misses First Penalty Since Joining PSG

In the 61st minute, Neymar Jr. won a penalty after he was taken down in the box by AS Saint-Étienne defender Mathieu Debuchy. It was a rare moment when a Ligue 1 ref rewarded the Brazilian as he’s usually told to get up and play on when brought down by opposing defenders.

Despite the early Christmas present from the referee, Neymar was unable to convert the penalty kick and put Paris Saint-Germain up 3-0 over Les Verts and put the match out of reach.

Neymar’s slow, stutter-step approach did send Stéphane Ruffier the wrong way but instead of blasting his shot into the open side of the goal, he opted to pass his shot into the side-netting but hit the post instead.

It was the first miss for Neymar since 2015 and his first in a PSG shirt. I guess even Stephen Curry misses free-throws every once in a while with the Golden State Warriors.

Want more PSG? Visit the PSG Talk Podcast Network page and subscribe to PSG TalkingThe 1970, and 24th & Parc.

Tags AS Saint-Etienne Ligue 1 Neymar
Follow Us