Only Two National Team Captains Gave Neymar a First Place Vote for the 2021 The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2021 ceremony was held on Monday, as Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski took home the most prestigious honor in the 2021 The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award.

National team captains, national team managers, media and fans all had a say in the vote for this coveted honor. Lewandowski received a multitude of first place votes from a number of notable players, including Tottenham forward and England international Harry Kane.

Overall, Paris Saint-Germain forward Neymar finished 10th in the final vote for this coveted honor with 10 votes. More so, former PSG teammate Thiago Silva and current club counterpart Lionel Messi wound up being the only national team captains that gave the Brazilian forward a first place vote for this award.

Neymar also garnered more support from other international talents. For one, Paraguay national team captain Gustavo Gomez gave him a second place vote for this honor behind Messi.

Neymar has not yet won this world football award. His latest, highest finish came back in 2017, when he topped out in third place behind Cristiano Ronaldo and Messi, respectively.

Tags FIFA Lionel Messi Neymar Thiago Silva
Follow Us